Senate Judiciary Committee Approves Gang of Eight Bill

Tonight, the Senate Judiciary Committee voted 13-5 to pass S.744, the Gang of Eight amnesty bill, out of committee. The full Senate could consider the bill as early as June, shortly after they return from the Memorial Day recess.

Senators Jeff Flake (R-AZ), Orrin Hatch (R-UT) and Lindsey Graham (R-SC) voted with all ten of the Democrats on the committee to move the bill forward. The remaining five Republican members voted against it. (Scroll down after the video to see a list of the votes.)

During his closing remarks, Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX) explained his objections to the bill including how it is “utterly toothless” with border security.


 Senate Judiciary Committee Vote on S.744.

Yes Votes

No Votes

Sen. Leahy (D-VT) Sen. Grassley (R-IA)
Sen. Feinstein (D-CA) Sen. Sessions (R-AL)
Sen. Schumer (D-NY) Sen. Cornyn (R-TX)
Sen. Durbin (D-IL) Sen. Lee (R-TX)
Sen. Whitehouse (D-RI) Sen. Cruz (R-TX)
Sen. Klobuchar (D-MN)
Sen. Franken (D-MN)
Sen. Coons (D-DE)
Sen. Blumenthal (D-CT)
Sen. Hirono (D-HI)
Sen. Hatch (R-UT)
Sen. Graham (R-SC)
Sen. Flake (R-AZ)

You can also review FAIR’s summaries of amendments on border security (Title 1), and amendments on H-1B visas, W visas and the JOLT Act in Title IV.


About Author


The latest guest opinion pieces from FAIR.

1 Comment

  1. avatar

    Even the Partyline Split is Phony

    They want us to really believe there’s a difference between the Fascist New World Order Democrat and the Fascist New World Order Republican????

    What a charade….LOL